CTC West Surrey Group

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 2014

Held on 15th November 2014 at the Jack Phillips, Godalming, Surrey.

Present

Thirty eight members were present. Mark Waters chaired the meeting which commenced at 1000 hours.

Apologies

Liz and Roger Palethorpe, Derek and Anne Tanner, Phil Hamilton, Chris Williamson, Don Gray, Claire Hooper, Les Hereward, Dane Maslen, Phil Gascon, David Ross, Gillian Doran.

Minutes of Last AGM

No amendments were raised. Proposed by Laurie Mutch, seconded by Roger Philo and agreed nem con.

Annual Report

The secretary presented the highlights: the new website, ride leader workshop, riding guidelines, new ride leader qualification procedure, implementation of CTC insurance requirements for non-members, sunset rides on Tuesday evenings in the summer.

Treasurer's Report

The treasurer reported that there was a small surplus for the year of £120, which reflected the costs for closing the old website, setting up the new website, providing the ride leader workshop and ride leader packs. The annual dinner made a small loss. The magazine made a loss, which necessitated the committee increasing the price from £4 to £6. A question was raised regarding the club's assets of £6000 and whether this was compatible with the CTC charitable status. Richard Bates [CTC Councillor] offered to raise this with HQ.

The accounts were proposed by Roger Philo and seconded by John Child and agreed nem con.

Magazine Editor's report.

The magazine editor was not present, but no questions were raised.

Election of Officers, Committee and Honorary Posts

Election of Chairman

The two candidates, Laurie Mutch and Mark Waters presented their statements and then a secret ballot was organized by the secretary and audited by Richard Bates. Mark Waters was duly elected Chairman. The following officers were re-elected:

Chairman	Mark Waters [Proposed by Chris Jeggo, Seconded by Chris
Juden]	
Rides Secretary	John Murdoch [Proposed by Louise Gagnon, Seconded by John
Child]	Niel-Design (Deserved her John Mandach, Gesended her Clive
Secretary Richardson]	Nick Davison [Proposed by John Murdoch, Seconded by Clive
Treasurer Philo]	Arthur Twiggs [Proposed by Nick Davison, Seconded by Roger

The following committee members were elected:

Laurie Mutch	Proposed by Pat Daffarn, seconded by John Child
John Child	Proposed by Laurie Mutch, seconded by Pat Daffarn
Roger Philo	Proposed by Sue Thorne, seconded by Helen Juden

The following Honorary Positions were elected:

Note that the change to the constitution was agreed prior to the election [see AOB item 2 below]

President	Chris Juden [Proposed by Mark Waters, seconded by Chris
Jeggo]	
Vice President	Rico Signore [Proposed by Louise Gagnon, seconded by Bob
McLeod]	
Auditor	Peter Chimes

Motions Received

- 1. A change of name to 'West Surrey CTC Group' was agreed nem con
- A change to the definition of President and Vice President as follows:
 A President and a Vice President shall be elected in recognition of special or outstanding contributions to the Group. These positions to be held for not more than five years consecutively'. This was agreed nem con.

Announcement of Trophy Awards

The following trophies were announced with their presentation to be held at the annual dinner in February 2015:

Bill Inder Trophy	Best Sunday attendance:	Clive Richardson
George Alesbury Tankard	Best Wednesday attendance:	John Findlay

Bert Bartholomew Trophy	Oldest rider to complete the 100-mile Reliability Ride	
	within the time limit:	Bob McLeod

Keith Parfitt Memorial Pot For organizing and helping at events: Roger Philo

Two nominations had been received for the wooden crank trophy: Bob McLeod for wearing very short cycling shorts, and Peter Hackman for arriving at the coffee stop on a Wednesday ride by car when he should have led the ride. Bob McLeod was duly voted the winner.

Wooden Crank Most Amusing Blunder during the year: Bob McLeod

Any Other Business

- Club Shirts Chris Jeggo queried their availability. John Murdoch explained that in order to keep costs down a minimum of 10 orders were required. At present he had two orders in the pipeline. Individual orders were available at higher cost. A proposal was put forward for the club to fund new orders at a cost of £40 to the individual. Proposer was Chris Jeggo and seconded by Laurie Mutch; it was agreed nem con.
- 2. A proposal had been received from Peter Hackman for a Gold Crank Trophy to be awarded to a member, who had made a special contribution to the club. It was agreed that members should send in nominations to the committee before the 27th November, when the winner would be chosen at the committee meeting. The award would be presented at the Annual Dinner. The new Trophy was proposed by Peter Hackman and seconded by Brian Ross and agreed nem con.
- 3. Chris Jeggo proposed a vote of thanks to the committee.
- 4. Lousie Gagnon proposed a vote of thanks to the secretary.
- 5. Mark Waters proposed a vote of thanks to last year's Chair, Louise Gagnon.

The meeting closed at 1202 hours.